California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
1/18/12, 3:54 pm

Legal Question


(7028.A) I did not represent myself to be a contractor. I was listed just as a handyman on craigslist and was called to look at a homeowners fence. I gave a price of $900 for labor and asked that the property owner purchase the material.

I have no previous record. I have been out of work for 3 years and my property taxes are due soon and needed to make money to pay those. Are the courts lienient for first time offenders? Are the courts set up for this offense to be a conviction each time? Or do they look at it on a case by case situation? I can not have a conviction record for the type of work I am applying for with the corrections dept. (Occured in Merced County)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search