California | Disability Law
Legal Question
what right do I have being an 89 amputee (wheelchair bound) and did not get a parking close to where my apartment is located. Do I have an argument?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
The construction and building permits issued to businesses and developers specify where and how many handicap spaces there have to be. Only IF they are in violation of their permitted space requirements, such as painting over and improperly deleting a handicap space, would you have any legal claim. Apartment complexes are heavily regulated and inspected. Thus, I doubt they are in violation. Your remedy is to TRY to negotiate with them for a space to be traded and moved to be closer to your need. Keep in mind you are probably not the only one in the complex seeking or needing one of the handicap spaces required. Also keep in mind that every marked handicap space takes one out of the 'pool' of spaces available to everyone else, 24/7/365, whether it is used or not by someone with a placard. That's why businesses put in only those legally required. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13881
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
The Law Office of Arkady Itkin
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Search Questions and Answers


