Virginia  |  Disability Law

question bubble
8/12/11, 8:22 am

Legal Question


I am 47,and have Cerebral Palsy from a birth defect and I am in a wheelchair. I am currently on SSI. Several years ago I was on SSDI and then afterwards worked off and on. A few years ago I applied for SSDI again and was examined by a Dr. While I was waiting for the SSDI decision I got a letter saying I was being placed on SSI.

According to Social Security law shouldn't I have been automatically approved for SSDI? When I got it the first time I applied on my own at about age 25. Should I apply for SSDI again or am I better off to leave it as is?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search