Virginia | Criminal Law
Legal Question
In 1988 I commited a crime of grand larceny ($600) in northern Va. I was charged at the time and tried and found guilty. I left the state and was arrested in 1995 and extradited back to Va. I was sentenced and given probation. My probation was transferred to the state that I was living in. I got arrested and, pleaded guilty in 1995 and was placed on probation on 2 other charges while still on probation from Va. I violated this probation in the current state that I was in and was sent to prison in Feb-1996. I served my sentence and was released in 1997 on the new charges in the current residing state at the time. I was never told by anyone in either probation department from Va or my current residing state at the time about anything that I needed to do. I recently began checking into the laws about having my civil rights restored in both states and accidentaly saw that a capias was issued in 1996 for me in Va. They knew where I was and even that I was going to prison but never did anything about it. I have since 1997 and my release from prison changed my life gotten married have a 8 year old child. No troubles at all. I don't know what to do. I knew nothing of this, have not been hiding or running but my record shows me as a fugitive. Please advise. I have been free with no worries for over 15 years and now this comes to haunt me. I haven't even told my wife about this yet.


