Pennsylvania  |  Family Law

question bubble
3/24/11, 7:05 am

Legal Question


I have 50/50 custody with my daughters father. The custody agreement is one week with me/one week with him and back and force as so. The past few times she came home to me I noticed her hair hasn't been washed in days and she doesn't smell pleasant. She's 7 years old and is old enough to remember how many times she had a bath that week. When I ask her how many she tells me "just 1".

He also refuses to give her her prescribed allergy medicine or even over the counter allergy medicine which is cheaper. When I used to send her medicine with her she would come home and I noticed that not much was gone (liquid form). I asked her if she took it everyday and she said she forgot and that no one reminds her to take it. That was when she was 5-6 yrs. old. What parent in their right mind makes a 5-6 yr old have to remember to take their own medicine? He lives at home with his mom and dad and isn't working right now. He's also getting behind on court ordered support. It's pointless in discussing these issues with him because he is very immature and gets defensive very quickly. My daughter never wants to go back to her fathers for the week. I want full custody of her but I don't know how to prove it to the courts that what he is doing is wrong. There have been other issues within the last year. I've written them down and dated them. What do I do for her? My husband would adopt her in a heartbeat. In fact, she has a much better relationship and is very close to my husband. I suggested to her father once that I would drop the support order if he gives her back to me full time. The only reason he said no is because of how pushy his mother and dad are. He wouldn't even know who she is if it wasn't for them wanting her in their lives. I'm guessing he's afraid of what they'll say and do if he would agree to what I said. How do I get her away from that mess so that her life isn't so inconsistent and also neglected?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search