Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
I am 23 and my father asked me if he could borrow my birth certificate to update mine and my family's passports. Now i don't think he will give me back my document. What can I do?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Fran Brochstein |
If he does not return your original birth certificate, you can just order a new one. It will cost you some money to get a new one. It takes a few days or weeks to get one. You will need id. to get one. I believe that you can do it on-line now or via fax.
At 23, your father should not be able to update your passport. Once you are 18, you are an adult & only you can handle your affairs like this.
I'm an attorney & I could not do anything for my children once they turned 18 - they had to handle all their own affairs unless they had executed a power of attorney authorizing me to do things for them. |
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1564
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 922
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Power Daley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Search Questions and Answers


