Maryland | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
In 2002, my father died and I was 12 years old. He was remarried to my stepmother, however they were having marital problems and were not living together. My mother had full custody of me. His original will 'disappeared' and my stepmother presented a new one. I ended up getting my father's truck, and my stepmother's father set up an education fund for me for people to contribute to. The agreement was he would turn it over to my mother. also, my father's company would match any contributions. I think it ended up being about $5k. When my mother inquired about the fund, my stepmother's father told her he turned the money over to his daughter, my stepmother. Not long after, she remarried and bought a new house! My mother tried for years to get her to turn over the money, which she never did. My mother has emails as recently as a couple of years ago, at about the time I turned 18, asking for the money and she stated she would get it to me. My mother has saved all of this.
Is there any recourse to getting this money from her? The company my father worked for turned the money over to my stepmother, since it was my father's wife. Since we have communications to my mother from my stepmother clearly stating she has the money and would turn it over, do I have any grounds to sue her? I have just turned 22. Thanks. She lives in WV and I live in MD. My father died in WV.


