New Jersey  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
9/22/11, 2:39 pm

Legal Question


2 full time college students and one full time worker sign a lease for a rental apartment in NJ. One of the students has her dad co-sign the lease for HER only. The other student who signed the lease now wants break his part of the lease and move out early - is the lease-breaker liable for his portion of the rent rent, or are the remaining 2 parties now liable for the entire rent payment? The lease says nothing about what happens if one party moves.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search