Maryland | Personal Injury
Legal Question
over 6 months ago, while parked in a fast food parking lot in Maryland, a lady hit my car. We exchange information, but I barely had a scratch and I was on my way to show the car (to sell), so I didn't see the need to file a claim. A few weeks later, the lady called me and stated that her husband advised her to call me to work a solution to get HER car fixed? so now I am confused, I don't know if this is what she told her husband but now she is talking as if I hit her? Anyway, I told her that I don't recall the accident happening this way and the best way to handle this would be to go to her insurance company and have them check both cars out so they can see the angles of the scratch (and see I wasn't at fault), I also told her we needed to do this soon because I had just sold the car, but I can ask the new owner to take it for one day to get a part for it. She said she would call me back and didn't. Now 3 months ago, I get a call from her asking how am I going to pay for the dent in her car to be fixed and I reminded her that she hasn't called me and I gave a solution but she didn't act on it and the car was now sold, I can provide proof of sale. So I haven't heard anything until today, someone from a law office called me to say I am responsible for her $1800.00 that her insurance company paid for. How am I at fault? They didn't even get my account of the situation. The law office is saying regardless of he said she said, if I didn't have insurance on my car, since Maryland law requires insurance, I am responsible. I wasn't even a resident of Maryland nor was my license in Maryland at the time. Am I liable for what she says?


