California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
3/03/11, 7:01 am

Legal Question


In 1987 a mother passes and leaves her home to her 11 children, with none of the sibling caring about the property it was somehow agreed that 1 of the brothers and his wife would live in the home. From 1988 to this date the brother and his wife cared for the property, did all repairs, new roof, in & exterior doors, kitchen, Stucco, Paint, etc. He & his wife paid all the property taxes, water, trash, sewage with no one paying anything but he & his wife. The husband passed in June 2010 and since that date 1 of his sisters lost her home in a foreclosure and has filed an unlawful detainer action against the wife because now she wants to move into the house.

My questions are; Does the husbands share in the house go to his wife ? And can the 1 sister evict the wife by stating she is manager when she has not been appointed by the other owners?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search