Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
In 2002 I received a bill from a collection agency for $1,200.00 from a Capial One credit card account that was not mine. I notified them, then received papers to appear in court, and I spoke with their attorney on numerous occasions. I told them if they showed me something with my signature I would write them a check for the balance. They could not do it and cancelled the court date. Now 9 years later I received a phone call from a collection agency for this bill which they say is $2,400.00. I explained everything to them and they wanted my social security number, which I refused to give them. They told me if I didn't supply it I would continue to receive these calls. What recourse do I have? This debt is from NJ and I now live in FL, if that makes a difference.


