Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I am 1/3 tenant in common on piece of historic property in Newburyport,MA. The other tenants in common are my mother and cousin's ex-wife. My mom passed away a couple of years ago, leaving her share to me via a notarized affidavit. My cousin's ex-wife and I would like to sell the property, but are concerned that my uncle, residing in a nursing home since 2001, still has lifetime estate rights to the property. When I did a deed search online, I could only pull up the quit claim deed that granted the property to all three of us in 2003. However, on my real estate tax bill, it lists all three of us as T/C (which I assume is tenants in common), but above our name it lists my uncle's name with an L/I after it. What does the L/I stand for? And do my cousin's ex-wife and I have the right to sell the property while my uncle is still alive with or without his consent? Finally, is the notarized affidavit from my mom granting her 1/3 to me legally binding in a sales transaction?


