Oregon  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/24/11, 10:09 am

Legal Question


My 16 year old son at the high school tried to jump over the hood of a car as it was leaving the school parking lot. The car had stopped and the driver was in the car and the car was engaged in drive. He did not make it all the way over and applied too much of his weight, thus denting the hood of the car.

My questions are: Is this vandalism? Is he responsible completely? Is this an accident punishable as a crime? If the driver was talking to my son beforehand (while driving) - would both parties be responsible? How does this apply to insurance (State Farm)?

I have offered that it was an accident and I will pay for half of the reasonable damages. I have offered that the cars owner, have the repair completed at a location that I know instead of the 3 estimates he (the father) brought to me - which were very high. He then threatened my son with going to the police and filing vandalism charges. Today the school called with the Dean and the Schools police officers on the phone - telling me that he has conducted an investigation and that my son is guilty of vandalism and that he wants to talk to my son. I refused to allow him to talk to my son without me or a lawyer present.

Thank you for any help you may have. Todd


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search