My 23 year old son was in a terrible car accident, he has auto insurance uner my boyfriend and lived with us at the time of the accident in MA. There was another person that was seriously injured in the car. The other person has a lawyer that sent my boyfriend and I a letter to submit my home owners insurance to them within a timely manner or I will be held responsible for all the fees from the accident. I do not own the house or have home owners insurance, my boyfriend does and the insurance company laughed and said to ignor the lawyer, he's not repsonsible. Can I be held financially resonsible for the car accident? This happened in a different town and I was sleeping at home in bed at the time of the accident.