California | DUI Law
Legal Question
My 18 year old got a 56.61 underage drinking, what is going to happen when we go to court?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
He is going to be prosecuted for the crime.
In California, if convicted of any misdemeanor, you potentially face up to 6-12 months in jail, plus fines. This is a 'non-serious' offense, so the likelihood of jail is certainly not high, but fines and other penalties like drivers license suspension are, so handle it right. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion program, reduction, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
You are always entitled to represent yourself in court. Whether you should is a different issue. The conventional wisdom is that an attorney will be able to do a better job and get a better outcome. Prosecutors don’t like dealing with ProPers, unless you are simply pleading guilty, not defending the case.
If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. I’ll be happy to help, using whatever defenses there may be. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13878
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law Office of Joe Dane
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 987
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Hale Law Group
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Robert L, Marshall
Chico, CA
Questions Answered: 748
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-24
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Law Offices OF David M. Wallin
Palmdale-victorville-valencia, CA
Questions Answered: 584
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Search Questions and Answers


