Nevada | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
13 years ago I put down payment on house and have been paying the mortgage ever since but my "boyfriend's" name is also on loan and deed. We both reside in the house but separately. How can one or the other legally leave without recourse concerning loan/mortgage?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rick Williams |
Either of you can quit claim the house to the other, but that will not remove your (or his) name from the financing. The only way the departing party can be completely separated from both the house and the debt associated with it is to be released from the financial obligation by the lender. That is very unlikely, because what incentive is there for the bank to let one of two borrowers off the hook? This is a huge problem that is often encountered in divorce law.
One possibility is for the remaining person to seek a refinance of the mortgage debt. If you are upside down in the house (like most of us in Nevada!), that will not likely happen, though. Additionally, the person seeking the new loan will have to be able to qualify on his/her own income and balance sheet.
You can enter a contract between you in which the one leaving can promise to never do anything that would jeopardize the title of the house, but the one staying really cannot enforce it any meaningful way. If your co-borrower files bankruptcy, it could present a problem for you. If he wants to take out a new mortgage to buy another house, it definitely will be a problem for him.
You cannot even sue him to remove your name from the debt (if that were your wish) since the court cannot order the lender to remove a borrower from the contract.
Sorry ... no easy answers here. |
Top Attorneys in NV
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Attorney at Law
Lake Tahoe, NV
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
albright stoddard warnick & albright
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-19
Search Questions and Answers


