Michigan  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
8/04/11, 1:01 pm

Legal Question


I am 17 years old and I was caught shoplifting in the state of michigan. It was jewerly worth about $80. The store is making me pay them $200 for what I did. I went to the police station and they said they will send me a court date in the mail. I plan on saying I am guilty and very very sorry for what I have done. I also plan on writing a letter to the store as an apology.

I don't want my parents to find out about this (I was treated as an adult, and they said since I'm 17 they can't tell my parents). I plan on getting a job and paying for all the fees myself. I was not planning on getting a lawyer. Do I need a lawyer? What will most likely be my punishment? should i pled guilty or not guilty? i heard pleading guilty means it will always be on my record.

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search