Mississippi  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/23/12, 11:05 am

I am 21 years old and was charged with a 1st shoplifting misdemeanor. I have no idea what that means. I’ve been looking online for answers and I’m getting nowhere. I was wondering what my chances for going to jail was? My bondsman told me if I plead guilty then I would only pay a fee. I asked him if there was a chance I could go to jail and he said maybe, just don’t bring it up- he said at the most I could maybe get 10 days jail. I’ve also read that I probably would not go to jail, that I will only have a fee to pay. For example- the page said a misdemeanor was a 1500 fee and up to 6 months in jail. Then it quoted that, that doesn’t mean one would go to jail, or pay that whole fine. I don’t understand any of this, I need it explained to me, and I don’t want any jail time. Is there any likelihood I could get out by just paying a fee?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search