Illinois  |  Military Law

question bubble
10/19/11, 8:15 am

Legal Question


I am 0-4 with 21 years in USAF. I have Thorasic Outlet Syndrome and have had 2 surgerys on my neck (in 09 and Jun 2011). Second surgery was fpr scaring. First surgey they took out a bone, scar tissue and lifted my pectoral muscle. I am supposed to be meeting an MEB and everything from my Primary Care Manager on base needs to be turned in by 1 Dec. Should I push for a medical retirement or try an go out on a regular retirement? I heard I could get less than 50% military retirement, yet I have already earned 50% regular retirement. I also understand being medically retired has pros and cons and that I could be placed on Temporary Disability Retired List. If I am on a TDRL do I get my normal retirement pay? Bottom line is I dont want to end up with less than I have already earned.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search