Kentucky  |  Product Liability

question bubble
10/27/11, 7:07 pm

Legal Question


My 17 yr old son bought a car from a private owner for $1300 almost 2 weeks ago. The seller told him that the transmission and engine were great but that the gas in it had gone bad from sitting too long, and for him to fill it up with high octane and drive it for a while to run the bad gas out. The car was still running terrible (constantly stalling out) so we took it to a mechanic. We thought it had something to do with the spark plugs and wires. The mechanic replaced the plugs and wires and some other minor things for $215 then told us the engine needed replaced and it would cost more than the car was worth. So we just brought it home. Now it is sitting in the drive way and cant even be driven. Also, come to find out, the car wasnt even titled in the man's name that he bought it from. Is there anything that we can do? (Also - in case it matters, we bought the car in Ohio, but live in Kentucky)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search