Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
if there is an 19yr stating your the father and DNA proofs its true do you have to pay back child support even though the mother refused the test years ago
if there is an 19yr stating your the father and DNA proofs its true do you have to pay back child support even though the mother refused the test years ago
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas Daley |
Yes. |
|
Read More Answered By: Fran Brochstein |
I would be in an experienced family law attorney's office tomorrow! I think you need to learn about what obligations you have legally under Texas law.
Also, you might want to talk to a family law counselor. It sounds the 19 yr. old might have a lot of "issues".
I'm not sure exactly what is happening in your situation.
A 19 yr. old cannot show up & demand "child support". A "child" is an adult at 18. If the 18 yr. old is "healthy" than under Texas law, he is too old for child support. In Texas, child support ends when the kid graduates from high school or turns 18. In Texas, child support does NOT apply to college. This kid might want money for college but you don't owe it to him to pay for college! Technically, the child's mother is owed the money for past due child support -- not the kid. The mother raised the kid so she is owed reimbursement for the money she spent on this kid.
Good luck! |
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
► In my boyfriends divorce decree it states his kids can't be around me how do we get...
► Ok my girlfriend has been trying to get her ex-husband to pick up a 1962 Chevy...
► My husband has just been informed by a girl that he had a noe night stand with 5...
► Can an ex spouse take you to court to charge you for infidelity? And can you stop...
► If the non custodial parent exercises summer visitation of 7 weeks, are they excused...
► Does the noncustodial parent still receive weekend visitation during the summer...
► My ex insists on communicating through our children, ages 10 and 12 regarding...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Texas| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press