Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
i have an abused child in my possion will they get removed from me if i report there mom to cps we would like to adopt this child now
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bob Leonard |
You should go talk to a family law attorney. That attorney will need to know much more. For example, how did the child come into your possession? Where is the father? Are you a person who is required by law to report child abuse? How long have4 you had the child? Are you related to the child?
You will not be able to adopt the child immediately. If CPS is involved, they could try to reunite the family. They might also not try to terminate the parents' rights. If they do not get involved, then you could only adopt if you were able to get a court to order the termination of both parent's parental rights. You might not even have the right (called standing) to file a suit to do that.
A good family law attorney can probably answer a lot of your questions. |
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1564
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 922
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Power Daley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Search Questions and Answers


