Minnesota | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
What if you have an account that you have not listed on the petition?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Well, I can't tell from your question if you mean there was a debt not listed or a bank account not listed. If it was a debt, tell your lawyer about it. Usually your lawyer could send a notice of the bankruptcy to the creditor and then add the creditor to the list of creditors in the court file. Most of my cases require that I do that several times. It's routine.
If it's a bank account, same thing to start with. Tell your lawyer. He will prepare an amended Schedule B to list the additional asset. He will also probably amend your Schedule C to claim the extra asset as exempt, assuming you have some exemptions left.
If you have done the bankruptcy filing without a lawyer, this is just one example of why that was a bad idea.
This is for general information purposes only, is not legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship. Consult the attorney of your choice about the details of your case. |
Top Attorneys in MN
Kelly Law Office
Minnetonka, MN
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-13
Calvert Law Office
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Chesley Kroon Chambers and Harvey
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
Nathan M. Hansen, Attorney at Law
North St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 98
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
763-424-6442
Maple Grove, MN
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Felix Law Office, P. A.
Burnsville, MN
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-06
Larry B. Stevens & Associates
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Law Office of Maya C. Sullivan, LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-21
Hoglund & Chwialkowski, PLLC
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-02-03
Search Questions and Answers


