California | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
Thank you in advance to anyone who can help me. All the complaints against my former attorney that I'm about to describe have all been documented through email.
I just settled a civil case. Mid-way through the case my attorney threatened to quit on me because I asked him to have more frequent communication with me on services he was billing me for. He said that he could not be micro managed and if so, he could no longer represent me. I apologized and asked him to please stay on the case because I knew I would be compromised otherwise. After that I was afraid to address mistakes that he made that resulted in additional billable hours. After the case finally settled, I brought up detailed concerns pertaining to unnecessary charges that were billed to me throughout the case. The head of the firm never replied to me. All they did was continue to send me my last bill. Now, they are finally trying to talk because I haven't paid. They are not willing to see any of my evidence and I feel like they are being unreasonable. They will not want to reduce my bill and they won't even look through my bill with me. Will I get in trouble if I pay nothing or a lesser portion of my bill? I continue to make attempts to come to ANY compromise, but the last communication I had he said that it will be sent to collections if I don't pay all of it.


