Nevada | Family Law
Legal Question
At what age can yo petition the court to change parental child custody?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: James Smith |
Nevada does not have a set age for this and a change of custody is never based on someone's age alone. There are a number of factors which the Judge will consider in a petition or motion for change of custody. Certainly, the minor child can be interviewed by the Court as to his or her preferences but they are not determinative. The fact is that there are immature 17 year olds and very mature 11 year olds so using age alone is not really a good way for the Court to make such an important decision. It has to be what is in the best interest of the child and what circumstances make it necessary for a change of custody to occur at the time of the petition or motion. |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Jeffrey A. Cogan, Esq., Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Willick Law Group
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 254
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
ToughTimesLegal.com
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 174
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Webster & Associates
Las Vegas,, NV
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-11-06
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


