California  |  Legal Malpractice

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/26/12, 4:10 pm

Are there alternatives to paying by the hour? Like a flat rate payable in advance? Or a monthly payment plan for 3 years?

Another question: What's a retainer? I paid one for $ 5,500. Never got anything for it. After months, the lawyer said "sorry this hasn't worked out" and that was the end. I didn't even get an invoice or a break down of the billing (like 1 hour handling e-mails, 1 hour being on the phone).

Another question: Would a retainer be used for regular work, or is it a kind of one-off fee to open the door and thereafter the hourly billing begins? That lawyer had a $ 250/hr rate and I was hoping to get 20 hours plus some court fees for the $ 5,500.

Q3: Yet another lawyer never spoke with me nor do we have a written contract. We were exchanging e-mails and then I get a bill for > $ 3,000. Once again, the actual work was less than an hour. And that includes e-mail correspondence and dictating a motion.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

183 Answers given in the last few hours.

7524 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search