Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
is an annuity purchased during marriage maritial property even is some of the money to purchase came from a cash out pension lump sum check
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Sher |
It depends on the status of the pension check. If this pension was in existence prior to the marriage, then you would have to prorate the lump sum depending on what the value of the pension was at the time of the marriage vs. its comparable value at the time of the cash out. The part that represents the (presumed) growth during the marriage would be considered marital, so if no other funds were used to purchase the annuity, then the same portion of the annuity would be treated as marital property. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3882
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Search Questions and Answers


