Ohio  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
2/06/12, 8:57 am

Legal Question


I was arrested for passing bad checks in Cleveland, Ohio. I wrote 2 checks from one checking account to another, in which I thought I had overdraft protection on the account(as it turns out I didn't). ONe check was for 450 and another for 850. These checks were returned "Refer to Maker" not NSF or account closed. Also I made 2 $10 payments towards the amounts I owed as well as making arrangements to pay the full amount. I was still arrested for passing bad checks. Since I made payments towards it shouldn't it be a civil matter? Secondly since the checks were returned "Refer to Maker" and not "NSF" or "Account Closed" should this not be criminal since Ohio law says checks must be returned for the reason of NSF or account closed? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search