Colorado  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/19/11, 2:32 pm

Legal Question


I was arrested for taking $12 worth of merchandise from a store. I have a court date in a month, and I will be pleading guilty, but I'm terrified! It was such a stupid mistake and I don't want it to affect me for the rest of my life. I'm 18, and this is my first offense of any kind, so I probably won't get jail time, but I still have a lot of questions...

Will the state provide me a public defender?

What kind of punishment could I get?

Also, I'm a student with a fair amount of scholarships paying for my college tuition, and I can't afford a misdemeanor on my record. Is there any way I could keep it off my record?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search