New Jersey | Employment Law
Legal Question
If I am asked to do a job at a much higher pay scale for 6 months, do they legally have to pay me at the higher rate?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Barry Gartenberg |
In general, employment in New Jersey is: At-Will. This means that an employer can hire, fire, change work assignments, promote/demote, change compensation and benefits, etc. at any time, for good, bad or no reason, and without advanced notice. There are many exceptions to the rule. For example, it is illegal to base such decisions on an individual’s membership in a protected classification (i.e., illegal discrimination) or take such action in retaliation for an individual engaging in protected activity (e.g., “whistle-blowing”) or his/her refusal to engage in illegal activity. Similarly, if an employer and employee have agreed to specific employment terms and conditions (i.e., entered into a contract), both parties must abide by the agreement or face a potential lawsuit. Of course, determining whether your circumstances fall within one of these or the many other exceptions to the At-Will rule will require much more discussion. Please feel free to contact me ASAP so that we may explore your options and protect your legal rights. 973-921-0600. Please visit my website - www.bgartenberg.com - or call me if you'd like to learn more about me or my practice. You can also find me on LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter. Thank you.
Kindly note and remember that my response is merely a general comment on the law related to your question, and NOT legal advice or opinion. Also, your question and my response does NOT create an attorney-client relationship between us. You cannot rely upon what I have written, because I do not have all of the information that I need to advise you or render an opinion. Even simple facts you have not shared can completely change my answer. For me to give you legal advice or opinion, you would need to hire me to be your lawyer, and then we would need to discuss this in detail and go over the documents.
IRS CIRCULAR 230 DISCLOSURE: As required by U.S. Treasury Regulations governing tax practice, you are hereby advised that written advice contained herein (if any) was not written or intended to be used (and cannot be used) by any taxpayer for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the U.S. Internal Revenue Code.
With best wishes, Barry F. Gartenberg, Esq.
|
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3591
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Office of Stephen R. Loeb
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1674
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC
New York City, NY
Questions Answered: 848
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Search Questions and Answers


