Illinois  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/22/11, 4:38 pm

Legal Question


(I really need Immediate Assistance on this matter)

I've been living in my apartment for two years and I was never on a lease. Can a Landlord in Illinois legally evict me without having to go through an eviction process?

My old roommates were on a lease, when the lease expired they moved out I wanted to stay.. I called my Landlord explained my situation and we agreed over the phone that as long im not late on rent I can stay here (No Written Lease) I figured we have a verbal agreement at that point.

Well now times are hard for me and im behind two months on rent and this is the reason why hes kicking me out. I feel slighted by the whole situation because I even told him I wasnt gonna make rent and to give me 30 days to find a place a little over two weeks ago through text message.. He never responded, so I figured he didnt mind. between that time he also turned my gas and electric off without notice..Two weeks later (now); a locksmith is knocking on my door at 10 am on a saturday, without the landlord giving me any notice about changing the locks prior.. I quickly called the police and my landlord finally shows up..The Police come in my apartment and tell me because I have no paper work to prove I live here that the landlord is right and that im technically "squatting" on his property..(even though I've wrote him checks and my name is on the mailbox and the reason I have no utility bills for the apartment because it was included with the rent) after that the police talk to my landlord outside come into my apartment and tell me I have till this Monday to leave of course is the landlords order and they cant do anything about it.. I felt taken advantage of right from the start and would like to know if I can file a civil suit about this situation..

Thank You

Drew


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search