Maryland | Personal Injury
Legal Question
On August 16, 2008, I was a victim of drunk driving. A drunk driver jumped the median and drove in front of my car, hitting me head-on. My police report states that when they pulled the man out of the car, he reeked of alcohol. We were both taken to the hospital; I had surgery on my bladder from the seatbelt, burns on my sides from the seatbelt, a hole in my eye from the impact of the airbag that required laser treatment, and fractures on my foot. No officers questioned him and he left the hospital. It took about a year to find the guy, only to find out that he borrowed a friend's identification, and borrowed another friend's car. The owner of the car said that his car was stolen, but later we found out that the owner's son was driving the car earlier that day and lied about knowing the guy that was in the car at the time of the accident. When my current lawyer first found the guy they thought was in the car, he went to court for DUI but all charges were dropped against him because he said that he had enough evidence to prove it was not him in the car and that he let someone else use his ID the night of the accident. My lawyer thinks that there is no point of going on any further because he has reason to believe that this other person has left the state. I am now left with the Uninsured Motorist Claim - which my lawyer is deducting his percent out of it - and I will be left with very little for all my pain and suffering through that difficult time. I do not know what else to do at this point. This case will have three years next month and no justice. Please help.


