Maryland | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I was awarded a small claim of $5000 against my ex husband. My lawyer prepared the paperwork for me for court but did not appear in court. The preparation fee was $500. She advised me that the attorney fees would be awarded as part of the judgement. However, since she was not present the judge could not award me attorney fees. She did not appear with me because she was confident it was a cut and dry case, I would win, and it was held in the jurisdiction of my ex (almost 2 hours away), the cost of travel would have at LEAST quadrupled the fees. Should she have been aware of the fact that I would not be awarded the attorney fee without her present? Should I expect a refund from her?


