California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
I was in a band that dissolved a few months back but the founding member is using tracks with my vocals on it. I didn't write the lyrics but I did sing the majority of the lead vocals on the tracks, is there anything I can do to stop him from using these songs with my vocals on them?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jim Betinol |
It depends. Whether you have the right to "stop" him from using these songs depends on whether there was a band agreement as to ownership of copyright and as to who wrote the composition of the song.
Absent any "band agreements", ownership of the band's "sound recordings" will likely depend on who is the author of these recordings. Typically the performers are the authors of the sound recordings, and it is likely that all of the band members in the performance are joint authors of this copyrighted material. If the sound recordings are jointly authored, any band member can license these recordings on a non-exclusive basis, so long as they pay the other co-authors their pro-rate share of earnings. (So in short as co-authors of the song, you might not be able to stop him from using the sound recording but he needs to give some a share of the money.)
Of course, it is still necessary to obtain permission from the copyright owners of the compositions of the song before releasing the recordings. If the song was co-written by the band, then again any band member also grant this permission.
If there is an agreement, you should review the agreement to see what your options are.
Goodluck.
Jim Betinol Partner Withrow and Betinol Law www.wibelaw.com E: betinol@wibelaw.com P: 424.229.2560 F: 424.258.7001
Disclaimer: This communication does not create an attorney-client relationship and such a relationship can only be formed through a signed written agreement. This communication is not legal advice and should not be solely relied upon in making your legal decisions. Any situation depends on many different facts and specific laws that require an in-depth legal consultation to evaluate the best solution for your needs.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 547
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Jonas M. Grant, A.P.C.
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Keith E. Cooper, Esq.
West Hollywood, CA
Questions Answered: 320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
M.E.T.A.L. Law Group LLP - Los Angeles Entertainment Attorneys
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Withrow and Betinol Law
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Search Questions and Answers


