California | Real Estate Law
2/01/12, 8:28 pm
Legal Question
BK7 was discharged over 20 months ago and home was included and discharged in the BK. How soon can I purchase a home again.
BK7 was discharged over 20 months ago and home was included and discharged in the BK. How soon can I purchase a home again.
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
A discharged bankruptcy is not ever a barrier to purchasing a house, per se. It is, generally, a barrier to getting a loan. There is no fixed number of months or years. Your ability to buy a house, using a loan, will depend upon many things, including your current income, the size of down-payment you can make, your other debts, your job stability, the reasons for the BK7, perhaps on whether you can get a co-signer or guarantor, whether you insist on the lowest possible interest rate or are willing and able to pay a risk premium, and on and on. Generally speaking, it'll still be pretty tough to get a loan after 20 months; 72 would be easier, but there are so many factors involved I would never say categorically that you have to wait until the 7 drops off your credit report. Maybe seller financing would work. Talk to a few loan brokers and see what they think. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
As soon as you rebuild your credit and a lender will make you a loan. 6-8 years is probably typical. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► I'm the defendant in a civil suit that's going to arbitration march 6-7th. I had a...
► I am a landlord in San Diego, CA. Tenants moved out and signed lease stating no...
► Can a property manager show up for landlord, in a California unlawful detainer case...
► As a 1/90th owner/shareholder in a HOA are "interest and real estate tax"...
► We are three equal 1/3 TIC owners of a single family home in San Francisco,...
► UNDER TITLE AND BOUNDARY ISSUES: I NEED to find at least 2, specific "Legal...
► Greetings, I want to open a real estate loan broker business in california, los...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press