Arizona | Employment Law
Legal Question
My boss promised a base salary raise in Jan and asked if I could wait till April. Then he said I would have to wait till May. Now he is not going to give it to me. Nothing was put in writing, only verbal, but I have a witness. What are my rights please?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Donald W. Hudspeth |
Based on what you have told me, your claim would not be barred by the Statute of Frauds, which requires certain agreements to be in writing, but you would still need a witness or some written record of the promise. Otherwise, you have a proof problem. And, you have the big picture problem that you will almost certainly lose your job if you "go legal" on your employer. So, you may want to get another job and/or quit before you raise the claim. The statute of limitations is one year from date of the promise (i.e.you must bring suit before the end of that period.). Good luck. Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C. 3030 North Central Avenue, Suite 604 Phoenix, Arizona 85012 Direct DWH@azbuslaw.com AzBusConsulting@aol.com Firm TheFirm@azbuslaw.com Ph 602.265.7997 Fax 602.265.6099 Web site www.azbuslaw.com follow us on Twitter at DonaldWHudspeth
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Patterson Johnson-Stovall & Crenshaw PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
W. Blake Simms, P.C.
Tempe, AZ
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
The Gonzalez Law Office
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-31
Search Questions and Answers


