California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Bought a bank owned home escrow neglected to call homeowners association ,once escrow closed i called for info only to discover that bank owned more than 800.00 of late dues association now is telling me the new owner, that i am responsible for debt is this true?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
The answer depends on a few facts. If the HOA recorded a lien for the unpaid HOA dues, then the lien is probably still on the home and you will have to pay it to remove the lien. This, however, then leads to a claim against the title company who insured the transaction for failure to catch the lien and pay it off (or require that the bank pay it off prior-to close of escrow). In this case, you would contact the escrow company and title company to make a demand that they clear the lien.
Alternatively, if there is no lien, then you only owe the HOA dues from the date of purchase forward. The Bank owes the unpaid dues - the obligation stays with the former owner, even if it is a bank, unless there is a lien in place. Either way, I would tell the escrow and title company that it is their mistake and that they need to resolve it by paying the dues and then they can go back after the bank. You should not have to eat this expense.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. Further, information you provide to the Firm through this website is not confidential - it is available publicly to anyone visiting this website. The Firm shall have no obligation to keep the information you provide herein confidential in any context. The information provided herein by the Firm is general, and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. As required by 11 U.S.C. §528, we must now disclose that, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Assistance we provide with respect to Debt Relief may involve bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code." |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


