Nevada | Family Law
Legal Question
I bought a car. It's worth 2500. It's my car. For insurance purposes the title is under my dads name. Can he legally take my car and sell it? It's not his. It's just under his name. I'm 19.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rick Williams |
If the title says it is his, it is his. Unless you have a contract that says otherwise, the title takes priority over anything else. Can you prove you paid for it? Do you have evidence that you have driven, maintained and otherwaise taken all responsibility for it? You might have a case for small claims court, but that title is the best defense Dad has to any claim you might make. He likely will win when the best claim you can make to the judge is that you were "only" committing insurance fraud by putting it in Dad's name.
My advice is to try to work things out with your father. If he is taking it for discipline or because you have acted irresponsibly, perhaps letting him know you have learned your lesson would carry some weight. Sometimes saying "I'm sorry" and promising never to repeat it is what a dad needs to hear from his teenage son. Good luck! |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Jeffrey A. Cogan, Esq., Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Willick Law Group
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 254
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
ToughTimesLegal.com
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 174
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Webster & Associates
Las Vegas,, NV
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-11-06
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


