Wisconsin | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I bought a new constructed house from a contractor. Within 5 years, the roof has come apart. It was found the contractor did not install the shingles correctly. He fixed the back and left the front. Sure enough the front came apart and now he says that it was not his fault. Can I sue the contractor in tort? Can he throw the economic loss doctorine at me and bar me from sueing? Is a real estate transaction a seperate case and won't be blocked by the economic loss doctrine? I feel that it is neglegence on the contractor's part. Thank you for your input in advance.


