India  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/25/12, 6:45 am

I bought a flat(in bangalore) before my marriage which is registered jointly with my mother. Now I would like to transfer my share to a close family member as a gift. The property is under home loan for a long duration. I understand that any settlement can come in to effect only after the hypothecation is removed. Now I would like to know what is the procedure to be carried out to ensure that my share goes to the family member without any disputes in future. Right now I have a new born son.

1 Answer


Answered on: 5/25/12, 7:36 am by RAJIV GUPTA

as your flat is hypothecated with the bank, you cannot gift the property to anyone else as you cannot pass the title of the property better than you hold yourself. unless the loan is repaid and hypothecation removed, you cannot transfer the property by way of sale or gift.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com Lawyer's Chamber No: 359,Western Wing,Tis Hazari Courts, Delhi-110054...SC & DHC Delhi, India. Www.karvai.in, 110054

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

7566 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search