New York  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/31/12, 5:01 am

We bought our home in Sept. 2008. It used to be a 1962 single wide, but the seller had gutted the entire thing and added various additions with cemented foundations. We were told the only thing left of the trailer was the frame underneath. The appraiser at the time said yes the trailer is still there, but because of all the extensive renovations he listed it as a ranch, which is what is in the county records also. We used the Veterans Affairs home loaner guarantee when we bought this property. Well, now it is time for us to move and we had an offer and went through all the motions. The prospective buyer's appraiser listed our home as a mobile home, unlike when we had the appraisal done over 3 years ago. So now the banks won't loan the money on the home because we don't even have HUD numbers because they did not issue those numbers until 1976. We were told by Veteran Affairs that as long as there is a parcel number we shouldn't need a hud number ( we do have a parcel number)

We keep getting different answers from different people. Was our appraiser in the wrong? What can we do about it? We have talked to the bank, the VA, our realtor, HUD and no one can give us a straight answer. I somehow feel cheated. I read on the HUD website that if the home is/was a mobile home then the appraiser should have asked for the HUD numbers, if the seller cannot furnish those numbers than he should reject the home for the future buyers. Was our appraiser in the wrong?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

213 Answers given in the last few hours.

7573 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search