Virginia  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/04/12, 5:42 pm

Legal Question


My boyfriend and his brother jointly own a house in Sterling, VA. It was deeded 50/50 to them by their late mother. Nobody can afford the upkeep, wants to live there, or pay the property taxes. The brother is being ureasonable about hiring either an assessor or realtor to sell the property, leaving my boyfriend in the lurch for all the property taxes as he is the only one with a job or anything to lose. We know if the property taxes aren't paid, sooner or later the county or state will start garnishing my boyfriend's wages, and we'd like to avoid that. Plus, the brother and other tenant persist in having a party lifestyle, which has brought law enforcement to the property multiple times, to the point where my boyfriend can't even live there as it is so disruptive and dangerous, We're considering a forced sale, but need to know how long that takes and what is involved in that process?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search