New Jersey  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/31/12, 5:52 am

my boyfriend seperated from his wife 9 years ago, filed for divorce and it became final in 2010 . he gave her the house. he thought he had his name removed form the mortgage prior to the divorce. he later discovered that his name was still on it. she went to an financial advisor because she could no longer pay the mortgage. the FA sent her to an arbitrator. the arbitrator told my boyfriend that that he committed adultery and I was a party to it. he was told that he could have went to jail for 6 months because of it. instead he was told to go to counseling 2x a week for 6 months and then to FA so as not to lose the house that his name was not suppose to be on in the first place. Is this leagal? He is leaving me so I wount see him for a whole year. Where in the NJ law is this written? Please help!

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

212 Answers given in the last few hours.

7519 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search