My brother died in March and left 2 money market acct and 1 CD in trust for me. The total of all 3 accts is $60,000. Do I have to claim that as income this year? I live in NY, my brother lived in FL
|
Read More Answered By: Walter LeVine |
No, an inheritance is not income, unless it consists of tax-deferred income like an IRA account. |
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 952
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Garden City, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
West Roxbury, MA
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-15
Seaford, NY
Questions Answered: 35
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-22
► My wages are garnished for student loans. can i deeuct that amount from my income...
► I have kids but don't live with me but my ex can't clam them cuz he dis't work and...
► My brother,sister and me own three pieces of land, its a c corp. we each live on the...
► Can we do gift letter with condition such as if house is purchased by 3/1/2012
► I HAVE BEEN ASKED TO DISCLAIM A HOUSE I INHERITED (i OWN HALF). to save inheritance...
► How do I set up a bank account for money gifted to four child in lieu of flowers...
► I have lost my job last year and my current income is below 50,000 yr. I have over...
More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press