Pennsylvania | Social Security Law
Legal Question
My brother is on ssdi and has only worked 5 years of his life. Hes telling me that when our parents die Im going to have to take credit for all the money but still give him his share. Something about he would lose his ssdi if I dont say all the money is mine? Is this true?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Randall Selagy |
Many people are confused about the kind of SS benefit they receive. SSDI & SSI are different.
If your brother is getting SSDI (Social Security Disability Insurance), he can have other assets and money. So he can take his share of the estate.
If, however, he gets SSI (Supplemental Security Income), he is NOT allowed to have other 'resources' (cash and assets, with a few exceptions) So whether he gets 'his share' from the estate or from you, it is still counted as a resource. And his SSI will be diminished or stopped.
If you give him money and he does not tell the SSA and SSA finds out, it will declare an overpayment and demand a refund of the SSI money. It may investigate him for fraud because he has a legal obligation to tell the SSA about any and all resources. If you pay his bills instead of giving him money directly - it is still a countable resource.
You need to talk to an estate planning attorney ASAP to learn how his 'share' of the estate can be protected and to what extent.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
F. Randall Selagy, P.C.
Kennett Square, PA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Warren & McGraw, LLC
Blue Bell, PA
Questions Answered: 164
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Brandon J. Barnett Attorney At Law
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-19
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Search Questions and Answers


