California | Civil Litigation
1/24/12, 11:19 pm
Legal Question
can my brother steal my name,my name is larry and he did not like this name so he taken my name
can my brother steal my name,my name is larry and he did not like this name so he taken my name
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
It's not clear exactly what your brother did, but my sense is that he had his first name legally changed to be the same as yours. I don't see anything unlawful about that. It's weird, but it seems perfectly legal.
Nobody "owns" their name. I'm certainly not the only Edward Hoffman in the world; last time I checked, there were three others practicing law in California. We all have separate identities even though we share the same name. If somebody else wants to have his name legally changed to Edward Hoffman, he would not be violating any of my rights. That would be just as true of a sibling as it would of a stranger.
If your brother tries to use his new name to make people believe he is you, then he might be guilty of identity theft. But merely having the same name as you would not be a problem. The crime would be using your identity, not adopting your name. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
So everybody in the world named Larry has stolen your name and can be sued for that?? Your brother, like anyone else, can call himself whatever he wants, as long as he isn't doing so for credit fraud or identity fraud. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► I received a call from a collections agency indicating a complaint has been filed in...
► Can the person who is filing the partion suit get all their legal fees or just a...
► I have been awarded an arbitration award and no response from the contractor after...
► A police officer is suing my sister for defamation of character due to a complaint...
► A PG&E Employee accessed my personal information with no legitimate PG&E...
► I lost a pistol which was in my truck. I placed it under my seat in a soft case. I...
► Can an ex. Threaten to take a vehicle away if you've kept agreement to pay for veh....
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press