Nevada | Business Law
Legal Question
as a buiness owner and did not personal gurantee a loan are you repsonsible
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Paul Malikowski |
Nevada law provides the following guidance:
NRS 111.220 Agreements not in writing: When void. In the following cases every agreement is void, unless the agreement, or some note or memorandum thereof expressing the consideration, is in writing, and subscribed by the person charged therewith:
1. Every agreement that, by the terms, is not to be performed within 1 year from the making thereof.
2. Every special promise to answer for the debt, default or miscarriage of another.
3. Every promise or undertaking made upon consideration of marriage, except mutual promises to marry.
4. Every promise or commitment to loan money or to grant or extend credit in an original principal amount of at least $100,000 made by a person engaged in the business of lending money or extending credit.
5. Every promise or commitment to pay a fee for obtaining a loan of money or an extension of credit for another person if the fee is $1,000 or more.
Your attorney can explain further. |
|
Read More Answered By: Nancy Delain |
Whether you are personally responsible for business debts also depends on the form of your business, which your post does not specify.
A sole proprietorship (DBA) is indeed responsible.
A general partner in a partnership is indeed responsible.
The owner of an LLC or corporation is, as a prima facie matter, not responsible, but that "corporate veil" can be pierced if you've been commingling funds and possibly (depending on Nevada law) through other faux pas that business owners have been known to commit.
As Mr. Malikowski says, your lawyer can explain further.
THIS POST CONTAINS GENERAL INFORMATION AND IS INTENDED FOR ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES ONLY. IT DOES NOT CONSTITUTE LEGAL ADVICE, NOR DOES IT CREATE ANY ATTORNEY-CLIENT RELATIONSHIP. FOR LEGAL ADVICE ON YOUR PARTICULAR MATTER, CONSULT YOUR ATTORNEY.
|
Top Attorneys in NV
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Lynes & Associates
Auburn, CA
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-30
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Search Questions and Answers


