New York | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Hello I am a new business / entrepreneur in need of legal assistance for patent applications. Is there anyone will help walk me through the process? I desperately want to learn how to become proficient in the patent application process. Are you willing to teach me?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gerry Elman |
The U.S. patent law was significantly amended on September 16, 2011. Some of the changes took place on that date, others (including an increase in government fees of about 15%) took effect on September 26th. Others will kick in during the next 12 months, and still others at 18 months from the September 16, 2011 date of enactment. So you're looking at a moving target. For further info on that, see http://www.uspto.gov/aia_implementation
For a basic overview of how the U.S. patent system currently works, read David Pressman's book Patent It Yourself http://www.nolo.com/products/patent-it-yourself-PAT.html (which was last updated 6 months ago; watch for further updates).
Beware that the U.S. patent system is a subset of a complex web of national patent laws, linked together by a variety of treaties starting with the Paris Convention on Industrial Property, the Patent Cooperation Treaty, and others, administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization. See http://www.wipo.int/patent-law/en/ for more.
For more information on current developments, visit my firm's site at http://elman.com and follow @TechLaw_Elman on Twitter. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
David A. Browde, P.C.
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Delain Law Office, PLLC
Schenectady, NY
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Frenkel Sukhman LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


