California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
If buying a house after 1 year of a payback chapter13 plan, does it affect in any way that plan?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
Absolutely. First, you cannot borrow money (a mortgage) while in a Chapter 13 bankruptcy without court approval. The approval process is going to require that your plan payments remain the same, or are higher after the borrowing so creditors are not adversely impacted by your acquisition of new debt. Second, where are the funds coming from for the down payment and closing fees and costs? The Court is going to examine that very carefully as well. Finally, and this is the most practical question - who is going to give you a mortgage while you are actively in a Chapter 13 bankruptcy? I know of no lenders willing to do so. You need to review this with your bankruptcy attorney. If you don't have one, you will need one to even consider purchasing a home while in bankruptcy.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. Further, information you provide to the Firm through this website is not confidential - it is available publicly to anyone visiting this website. The Firm shall have no obligation to keep the information you provide herein confidential in any context. The information provided herein by the Firm is general, and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. As required by 11 U.S.C. §528, we must now disclose that, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Assistance we provide with respect to Debt Relief may involve bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code." |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1027
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


