California | Construction Law
Legal Question
California Business and Professions Code Section 7031: Bars any and all legal actions in California by a party seeking compensation for any construction work or services performed by any person or entity acting in the capacity of a contractor for which a contractor's license is required by the Contractor's State License Law. This section is both a "shield" protecting the consumer from litigation by contractors seeking to get paid and a "sword" allowing a consumer to sue to recover compensation paid to an unlicensed contractor.
General Contractor tried to collect remaining balance from Homeowner for his new house.
Question: California Business and Professions Code Section 7031 should not be new to Mr. Lawyer since he did similar case before. Before retaining Mr. Lawyer was told and warned by the Contractor that the same Homeowner had won the lawsuit for not paying the subcontractor (who did the site work) using this California Business and Professional Code section 7031. However, Mr. Lawyer reassured Contractor that it is no problem to get the remaining balance.
Is it ethical for Mr. Lawyer to accept the case without telling his client the truth about BPC section 7031? And also Mr. Lawyer should have advised and convinced his client to accept the first offer of $70,000+ at the very beginning of the attribution settlement. The Contractor ended up with NOTHING and $80.000 billing.


